Sewing meet ups

Melbourne Modern Quilt Guild members meet up regularly for sewing, learning and skill sharing.

Our Sit and Sew Days are just that. Come, join with your guild friends, sit and sew, share, show off your work and enjoy. Occasionally we even have a Super Sit and Sew Day – up to 11 hours of fun!

The Sewcial Evenings are our chance to host guest lecturers, trunk shows, or shorter, educational workshops.

Visitors are welcome to join us at our events, except those listed as Members only, on two occasions before we ask that you join the guild.

Bookings are required for all events and open up on the 1st day of the month prior. We charge a small fee to cover costs for venue hire, and it’s charged at the time of booking.

JANUARY 2019
Saturday 19th January
10am - 4pm
Sit and Sew Day GJ’s Discount Fabrics
31 Steane Street (cnr Sparks Ave & Steane St)
Book Here

FEBRUARY 2019
Saturday 16th and Sunday 17th
MMQG FebFest
(members only)
GJ’s Discount Fabrics
31 Steane Street (cnr Sparks Ave & Steane St)
Book Here
MARCH 2019
Saturday 16th March
9am - 4pm
Sit and Sew Day GJ’s Discount Fabrics
31 Steane Street (cnr Sparks Ave & Steane St)
Book Here

APRIL 2019
Sunday 7th April
9am - 4pm
Sit and Sew Day GJ’s Discount Fabrics
31 Steane Street (cnr Sparks Ave & Steane St)
Book Here

MAY 2019
Sunday 5th May
10:30am - 4pm
Charity Sewing Day
(Members only)
Balwyn Library
336 Whitehorse Road
Book Here
MAY 2019
Saturday 18th May
9am - 4pm
Sit and Sew Day GJ’s Discount Fabrics
31 Steane Street (cnr Sparks Ave & Steane St)
Book Here
JUNE 2019
Saturday 1 June 10am - 10pm
+ Sunday 2 June 10am - 3:30pm
MMQG Retreat 2019
(members only)
Amitie
87 Beach Road
Torquay 3228
Book Here
JUNE 2019
Saturday 29th June
9am - 4pm
Sit and Sew Day GJ’s Discount Fabrics
31 Steane Street (cnr Sparks Ave & Steane St)
Book Here



JULY 2019
Sunday 14th July
9am - 4pm
Sit and Sew Day GJ’s Discount Fabrics
31 Steane Street (cnr Sparks Ave & Steane St)
AUGUST 2019
Sunday 11th August
9am - 4pm
Sit and Sew Day GJ’s Discount Fabrics
31 Steane Street (cnr Sparks Ave & Steane St)
SEPTEMBER 2019
Thursday 19th and Friday 20th September
9:30am - 4pm
Maria Shell workshop
(members only)
GJ’s Discount Fabrics
31 Steane Street (cnr Sparks Ave & Steane St)
Book Here
SEPTEMBER 2019
Saturday 21st September
9am - 8pm
Super Sit and Sew Day
(members only)
GJ’s Discount Fabrics
31 Steane Street (cnr Sparks Ave & Steane St)
OCTOBER 2019
Sunday 13th October
9am - 4pm
Sit and Sew Day GJ’s Discount Fabrics
31 Steane Street (cnr Sparks Ave & Steane St)
OCTOBER 2019
Friday 25th October
6-9pm
Libs Elliott
Quilting with Code Lecture and Trunkshow
GJ’s Discount Fabrics
31 Steane Street (cnr Sparks Ave & Steane St)
Book Here
OCTOBER 2019
Saturday 26th October
9am - 4pm
Libs Elliott
Embrace the Chaos -
An Exercise in Controlled Randomness workshop
(members only)
GJ’s Discount Fabrics
31 Steane Street (cnr Sparks Ave & Steane St)
Book Here
OCTOBER 2019
Sunday 27th October
9am - 4pm
Libs Elliott Improv Piecing with Dynamic Stripes workshop
(members only)
GJ’s Discount Fabrics
31 Steane Street (cnr Sparks Ave & Steane St)
Book Here
NOVEMBER 2019
Saturday 16th November
9am - 4pm
Sit and Sew Day GJ’s Discount Fabrics
31 Steane Street (cnr Sparks Ave & Steane St)
DECEMBER 2019
Sunday 8th December
9am - 4pm
Christmas Sit and Sew Day
(members only)
venue tbc